Commander Strategy

This topic contains 10 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Xyn 5 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

beardgrae

I can’t believe there isn’t already a discussion of commander strategies. Let’s remedy that.

As for me, I’m just getting started. /me leaves to level Lord.

Xyn

I guess it’s still just so much in the learning phase.

Obviously things like dual bolt are pretty cool, but obviously they also aren’t going to be around for very long :D

So I figure we keep this to combinations that they intended to be possible.

Right now I’m running my Commander with 2 Wood and 2 Drain in front (2 gold in back, doesn’t matter). It’s like having a Drake in my wood deck, plus the extra front row healing from Drain and the two wood production. He costs 11, but that’s pretty easy to manage with a wood deck.

I think wood is going to allow for some really powerful commanders. Pumping out several 20c units is nothing for wood.

Right now I’m wanting to replace my front row wood production with defense. 3 defense would allow for some really awesome moves paired with Blight, allowing my commander to be in the first slot with Blight in the second, or to have Blight/Commander/Blight in the first three slots without worrying very much that the second blight won’t get to move.

My guess is that the best Commander strategies will involve clever combinations of abilities with defense, as well as deadly use of special types such as Knight. Right now my Commander is a Dog, just because it was free and I have a few dogs in my wood deck.

So do commanders cost the type of resource your city produces most of? Or can you use any resource type to buy a commander? If you can use any type of resource at all, I would imagine that hiring a commander with stolen resources could be a pretty deadly strategy in a crystal or mixed deck.

impronoucabl